Seventh Annual Stakeholders Conference


image copy copy copy copy copy 


Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Dear colleagues, 

We are pleased to invite you to attend FEPORT's Seventh Annual Stakeholders’ Conference: “How to preserve the EU transport sector’s competitiveness in a world of “perma-crises?” 

The Conference will take place on December 1st, 2022 and will gather institutional and non-institutional stakeholders as well as representatives from organizations of the transport sectors who will discuss and reflect upon all challenges the EU transport sector is facing. 

“Perma crises” means that we do not only need to become more agile and develop a greater capacity of adaptation, but that collective intelligence and joining forces with all parties that engage to find solutions to overcome the big challenges we are facing will be key. This is why FEPORT has decided to build the program of this conference together with the Waterborne Technology Platform which gathers pioneers and early movers in the field of the transition to zero-emission, digital, zero-accidents and competitive transport.

TIC 4.0 is the other partner for our stakeholders’ conference. The organization has already shown the relevance of its work aiming at defining and adopting standards that will enable the cargo handling industry to be more efficient.

Both COVID 19 and its lockdowns and the recent war in Ukraine have shown the critical role of seaport terminals in enabling the circulation of cargo flows between the seaside and land side. TIC 4.0 is already deploying pilots thanks to the great support of CINEA and EU funding.

“Nobody will solve it alone”,  so joining forces is a must.

Therefore, throughout the three sessions of the conference, we will listen to representatives from EU institutions, companies, think tanks and foundations who share their views, express their expectations and clarify how their efforts are contributing to the overall objective of the energy transition, climate resilience and competitiveness. 

During the opening session of the conference, we shall have the opportunity to listen to Transport Commissioner Adina Valean who will share her vision on the current challenges in the transport sector.

The first session will be dedicated to “Climate urgency and energy crisis: which impact for transport in the EU?” It will be moderated by Jaap Gebraad, Secretary General of the Waterborne Technology Platform and will feature speakers from Seas at risk, WBCSD (World Business Council for Sustainable Development), EBU, Global Maritime Forum, Maersk Mc-Kinney Møller Center for Zero Carbon Shipping and Port of Hamburg and DG Climate. MEP Vera Tax will also give her views on the theme of the session and her role in the framework of the Fit for 55 proposals.

The second session will concern the impact of the war in Ukraine on the EU transport chain and will be moderated by Conor Feighan, Secretary General of ERFA.

Besides representatives from Deloitte, CER, DG MOVE, Gdynia Container Terminal, Metrans, COCERAL, European Transport Federation. MEP Caroline Nagtegaal and MEP Andrey Novakov will also provide their views about the revision of the TEN-T Regulation.

The third session will be about the hope to overcome the difficulties…We will debate about the competitiveness and resilience of the EU transport sector in the era of perma crises.

Lamia Kerdjoudj, Secretary General of FEPORT will moderate the session that will gather speakers from Yilport, DG RTD, PortEconomics, DG MOVE, Kalmar Cargotec, CMA CGM, TIC 4.0. Finally, MEP Marco Campomenosi will discuss the competitiveness and resilience of the EU transport sector.

Looking forward to welcoming you.

Kind regards, 



Conference Programme


8:15 am   Registration opened  


9:15 am   Opening session/speeches:

  • Ms. Barbara Schretter – Director of the Representation of the Free State of Bavaria to the EU
  • Mr. Gunther Bonz – President of FEPORT
  • Opening message from Transport Commissioner Ms Adina Valean


1st Session:

 Climate urgency and energy crisis: which impact for transport in the EU?


9:45 am   Key notes:

  • Ms. Lucy Gilliam – Senior Shipping Policy Officer, Seas at Risk
  • Mr. Indra Vonck – Director - Sustainability & climate, Deloitte

Moderator: Mr. Jaap Gebraad – Secretary General, Waterborne Technology Platform

10:15 am   Panel discussion:

  • MEP Vera Tax
  • Mr. Peter Schild – Director of Marine Fuels, Proman
  • Mr. Paul Goris – President EBU
  • Mr. Lau Blaxekjær – Senior Project Manager, Global Maritime Forum
  • Mr. Jan-Christoph Napierski – Head of Regulatory Affairs, Mærsk Mc-Kinney Møller Center for Zero Carbon Shipping/ Green corridors
  • Mr. Torben Seebold – Member of the Board, HHLA


11:45 am – 1:15 pm  Standing Lunch


2nd Session

War in Ukraine, and EU transport infrastructure


1:30 pm   Key notes:

  • MEP Caroline Nagtegaal
  • Mr. Alain Baron –  Head of International Transport Sector, DG MOVE 

Moderator: Mr. Conor Feighan – Secretary General, ERFA

2:00 pm   Panel discussion:

  • Mr. Peter Kiss – CEO, Metrans
  • Mr. Alberto Mazzola – Secretary general, CER
  • Mr. Gert Bosscher – Head of Black Sea, Copenhagen Merchants
  • Mr. Tom Peeters – Vice President Road, ETF
  • MEP Andrey Novakov


3:00 pm   Coffee Break


3rd Session:

Competitiveness and resilience in the era of perma-crises


3:20 pm   Key notes:

  • Mr. Boris Wenzel – Co-CE, Yilport
  • Ms. Rosalinde van der Vlies – Director, DG RTD

Moderator: Ms. Lamia Kerdjoudj – Secretary General, FEPORT

3:50 pm   Panel discussion:

  • Mr. Theo Notteboom – Co-founder and co-director of PortEconomics
  • MEP Marco Campomenosi
  • Mr. Szymon Oscislowski – Deputy Head of Unit for Maritime Transport and Logistics, DG MOVE
  • Mr. Jari Hamalainen – Director, Terminal Automation,  Kalmar – Cargotec Global
  • Mr. Francisco Blanquer – CMA CGM Senior Innovation Manager and TIC4.0 Operations Council Chair
  • Mr. Olivier Silla – Head of CEF Department, CINEA


5:05 pm   Short wrap up of the day

  • Ms. Lamia Kerdjoudj – Secretary General, FEPORT


5:20 pm   Closing words

Mr. Gunther Bonz, in presence of Ms. Magda Kopczynska - Director for Waterborne, DG MOVE