10 January 2019


On 10 January, the Transport Committee of the European Parliament (TRAN) voted on MEP Karima Delli’s draft report and the proposed amendments to the draft Regulation for the realignment of the TEN-T corridors in view of Brexit.

The UK is part of the North Sea – Mediterranean corridors and, as of the date of its withdrawal from the EU, the UK will no longer be part of the corridor. Thereby, the need to revise the alignment of the corridor arose to ensure a continuous connection between the section located in Ireland and the section in the Continental EU.. 

As a result of the TRAN Committee’s vote on the report to the draft Regulation, the ports of Calais, Le Havre and Dunkerque were added to the North Sea – Mediterranean corridor, and the ports of Brest, Roscoff, Saint Nazaire, Saint Malo, Cherbourg, Caen Le Havre, Rouen, Paris and Boulogne were added to the Atlantic corridor.

The report was adopted with 45 votes in favour and 2 abstentions. Following that, the mandate to open interinstitutional negotiations was granted.