Brussels, 10 July 2019

On the 9th of July, the Constitutive meeting of TRAN Parliamentary Committees has elected MEP Karima Delli as President of the Committee.

FEPORT congratulate MEP Karima Delli for her re-election and welcomes the TRAN Committee’s choice which privileges continuity in leadership. We hope that the positive path which started during the previous term will be pursued.

The reduction of Greenhouse emissions is one of the most important issue that must be addressed in the 21st century. European institutions have recognized this as a key priority to be tackled. FEPORT reiterate its call for a good mapping of the different sources of pollution to better target them. We believe that this is a prerequisite to adopt smart legislation. Proper implementation of existing rules will also be crucial.

FEPORT members also congratulate MEP Pascal Canfin (REG, FR, ENVI Committee), MEP Bernd Lange (S&D, DE, INTA Committee), MEP Roberto Gualtieri (S&D, IT, ECON Committee), MEP Lucia Ďuriš Nicholsonová (ECR, SK, EMPL Committee), MEP Petra De Sutter (Greens, BE, IMCO Committee) and all the other MEP who have elected as Presidents and Vice Presidents of the European Parliament Committees. FEPORT is looking forward to working with all MEPs.

After the summer break, most probably during the second half of September, designated Commissioners will go through hearings at the European Parliament. The designated Commissioners will have to answer questions from the MEPs who are members of the Committees responsible for their respective portfolios.


EP Parliament

Composition of the new European Parliament